Vietnam: How to Support the Continuation of Intercountry Adoption


Senators Landrieu and Coleman, along with other Members of Congress, are continuing to show their support of ensuring every child’s right to a permanent, safe, and loving family. As part of their commitment, they will be forwarding a letter to Nguyen Tan Dung, the Prime Minister of Vietnam. This letter will encourage Vietnam’s continued participation in negotiations related to the new bilateral agreement on intercountry adoption. The letter will express Congressional support for the continuation of intercountry adoption and will emphasize the importance of the transition to a Hague-compliant system and a new bilateral treaty.

Between Monday, January 5th and Friday, January 9th, individuals can support this important initiative through the following methods:.

  • Contact your Congressional Representatives and Senators and ask them to sign the letter to the Prime Minister of Vietnam regarding the future of intercountry adoptions from Vietnam. Also, note that if they are interested in signing, they should contact Sarada Peri from Senator Landrieu’s office ( by Friday, January 9th. For a list of Senators and Congressman that have signed the letter as of the time of this writing, please see below

You can find your Senators’ phone numbers and email address at

You can find your Representatives’ phone numbers and email address at

Please note that many of the Congressional offices will be closed for periods of time throughout the Holiday Season.

Send a notice of support (and ensure that you receive updates on this initiative) via the Joint Council website. To finalize your message, you will need to complete the following:

Contact your friends and family encouraging them to join the effort. Please feel free to direct all interested parties to this website.

The letter to the Prime Minister can only be successful with your help! If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact Joint Council staff via

Please note the following Senators have already signed the letter to the Prime Minister of Vietnam:

Senator Landrieu

Senator Coleman

Senator Oberstar

Senator Lincoln

Senator Lautenberg

Senator Menendez

Senator Kerry

Senator Johnson

Senator Bill Nelson

Senator Akaka

Senator Roberts

Senator Murkowski

Senator Durbin

Senator Klobuchar

Senator Lieberman

Senator Levin

Senator Bennett

Senator Dodd

Senator Thune

Senator Feingold

Senator DeMint

Senator Inhofe

Senator Bayh

Senator Casey

Senator Burr

Senator Specter

Senator Vitter

Senator Wyden

Senator Mikulski

Senator Brown

Senator Schumer

Senator Stabenow

Senator Kohl

Senator Collins

Senator Voinovich

Senator Corker

Senator Reed

Please note the following Representatives have already signed the letter to the Prime Minister of Vietnam

Rep. Jim Oberstar

Rep. Scott Garrett

Rep. Jerry Costello

Rep. Dennis Moore

Rep. Pete Roskam

Rep. John Yarmouth

Rep Pete Hoekstra

Rep Doug Lamborn

Rep Tammy Baldwin

Rep Joe Pitts

Rep John Duncan

Rep Virginia Foxx

Rep Patrick McHenry

Rep Jim McDermott

Rep Todd Akin

Rep Jim Jordan

Rep Bill Delahunt

Rep Bill Pascrell, Jr.

Rep Michele Bachmann

Rep Bart Gordon

Rep John Boozman

Rep Peter T King

Rep Brad Ellsworth

Rep Jim Cooper

Rep Patrick J Tiberi

Rep Ginny Brown-Waite

Rep Thaddeus McCotter

Rep Dan Burton

Rep Anh “Joseph” Cao

Rep James P McGovern

Rep Chris Smith

Rep Steven Cohen

Rep Corrine Brown

Rep Gene Green

Rep John Boccieri

Rep Stephanie Herseth Sandlin

Rep Robert Wexler

Rep Jean Schmidt

Rep K. Michael Conaway

Rep Jerry Moran

Rep Jeff Fortenberry

Rep Rob Bishop

Rep Barney Frank

Rep Peter DeFazio

Rep Zack Space

Rep John F. Tierney

Rep Danny K. Davis

Rep Jim Jimes

Rep Kevin Brady

Rep Joe Wilson

Rep Carolyn Maloney

Rep Todd Tiahrt

This entry was posted in Recent News and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.